Honors a school counselor who is running a top-notch, comprehensive school counseling program at the elementary, middle, or high school level.  Oklahoma's winner is submitted to the national level.

Nominations are currently live until March 14, 2021 at

Missy Smith

2020-2021 Oklahoma School Counselor of the Year

Missy has been the school counselor at Lincoln Elementary in Norman since 2014. Not only did she win OK SCOY, but her school also received RAMP recognition, only the third school in the state to do so!

After counseling lessons on self-regulation, 80% of students reported they knew ways to move themselves from an excited state to a calm state. With this intervention and others, Missy helped her school reduce playground behavior referrals by 25%.

The SCOY announcement was made through a surprise drive-by parade past Missy's house.  Her family, friends, school staff, district leaders, and OSCA board colleagues helped celebrate.  Here's a video in case you missed it!

Previous Oklahoma School Counselors of the Year

2019 - 2020 Lee Acers, Wilson Elementary School, Oklahoma City Public Schools

2018 - 2019 Sarah Kirk, Monroe Elementary School, Norman Public Schools

2017 - 2018 Misty Bible, Broken Bow  Public Schools

2016 - 2017 Dr. Michelle Taylor, Adair High School, Adair Public Schools

2015 - 2016 Nick Hughes, Limestone Technology Academy, Sand Springs Public Schools

2013 - 2014 Lori Pettus, Eisenhower International School, Tulsa Public Schools

2012 - 2013 Bobbie Fields, Tulsa Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Michelle Dodgen, Weatherford Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Katie Burk, Sterling Public Schools (K-12 SCOY)

                      Charlotte Hunter, Oklahoma City Public Schools (Outstanding School Counselor Advocate)

2011 - 2012 Ken Elliott, Edmond Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Beth Dillard, Putnam City North High School, Putnam City Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2010 - 2011 Kay Middleton-Price, Muskogee Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Lisa Edwards, Edmond Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Janet Anderson, Moore Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Marylu Oakes, Seiling Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

2009 - 2010 Carolyn Nees, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Robbie Smith, Keys Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Mary Brenner, Woodward Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2008 - 2009 Rebecca Barry, Shawnee Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Linda Salter, Moore Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Karen Dawson, Tulsa Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2007 - 2008 Barbara Shelton, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Janelle Miller, Moore Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Laura Watts, Tahlequah Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Cheryl Riggs, Central Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

                      Wendy Perry, Moore-Norman Technology Center (Other-level SCOY)

2006 - 2007 Kathy Simmons, Midwest City Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Cheri Lou Gastineau, Burns Flat-Dill City Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Fran Bewley, Sallisaw Public Schools (High School SCOY)

                      Kristin Ramirez, Blair Public Schools (Multi-level SCOY)

                      Mary Jane Pruitt, Kiamichi Technology Center (Other-level SCOY)

2005 - 2006 Suzanne Price, Norman Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                     Beverly McCombs, Crescent Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                     Rhonda Malahy, Putnam City Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2004 - 2005 Sandra Bright, Weatherford Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Ellen Harkey, Idabel Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

                      Becky Delozier, Adair Public Schools (High School SCOY)

2003 - 2004 Margaret Durham, Moore Public Schools (Elementary SCOY)

                      Gerri Kroutil, Mustang Public Schools (Middle Level SCOY)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software